Project #2: Spider Peanut Butter Blossoms

I decided to be festive for my next project and do something Halloween themed. I eventually came upon these cute little spider cookies that Bridget, a professional cookie decorator, failed at not once, not twice, but four times. So let’s put my skills to the test and see if I can do this better than someone who actually does this kind of thing for a living.

img_4202

WARNING: The content you’re about to see is extremely dull and mundane, considering this recipe resembles basically every other peanut butter blossom recipe out there. However, these, of course, are not your typical peanut butter blossoms so please bear with me!

The first step was to cream together the shortening, peanut butter, and sugar. After that is done you mix in an egg, milk, and vanilla.

Wow!!!

After this insanely difficult task, you need to mix together all of your dry ingredients and then proceed to mix them into the other ingredients until it forms a cookie dough.

What a concept!!

Once you have the cookie dough (you guessed it!) it’s time to bake the cookies. In order to do this you will need to create dough balls about 1 inch wide, roll each of them in sugar, and place them on a cookie sheet about 2 inches apart.

This next part was pretty crucial in regards to the decorating process. I couldn’t let the peanut butter cups melt too much otherwise I wouldn’t be able to create the proper spiders that I needed. So I felt super smart when I made the decision to put the peanut butter cups in the freezer before placing them on the cookies, thinking that was the obvious solution to my dilemma.

Oops.

No need to worry though! Fortunately this happened to only a few of the cookies, so I’m not classifying this as a failure just yet.

Now for the decorating process. The items needed for this were black licorice, melted chocolate, and candy eyes. So before you do anything else, you’re going to take the black licorice…

img_4219

…and you’re going to put it where it belongs.

img_4220

In reality I actually ended up not using these because I was under the impression that all Twizzlers ropes had the ability to unravel into smaller, skinnier ropes. I quickly realized I was wrong so I had to improvise and I purchased the Twizzlers that are specifically designed to be pulled apart.

Unfortunately these were the only ones I could find and I decided to just stick with the purple part of the rope because it was the color closest to black.

After the dissection of the Twizzlers, I cut the ropes into smaller pieces and then I was finally able to start on the decorating process. This process consisted of using a toothpick to apply the melted chocolate to the legs and candy eyes and then sticking them onto the peanut butter cup.

So cute!!

After repeating this process on the second cookie I was no longer having any fun and I began to regret choosing a project that required this much artistic ability. So I eventually grew tired, and after decorating about only half of the cookies I made, here was the final result:

img_4218

I realize that the six purple legs make these cookies a little unconventional and unrealistic, but they’re cute. And they somewhat resemble spiders. So I’m going to say this project was a success.

If you want to try out this super cute recipe yourself, you can find it here.

Leave a comment