Project #5: Rainbow Heart Cookies

Ah, the infamous rainbow heart cookies. I first saw this tutorial in a video that multiple people had shared on Facebook. So after I found this incredibly sad attempt at these cookies (but really though, what happened??) I decided to go ahead and try out Eugenie’s original recipe.

img_4302

Apparently the proper name for these cookies is French sable cookies, and the list of required ingredients to make these incredibly dry and bland cookies is pretty miniscule.

The first step is to blend up 3/4 cup of butter until it’s “creamy like mayonnaise.” After that, you’ll need to mix in 1 1/4 cups of powdered sugar.

Then you’ll need to mix in 3 egg yolks, 1 tsp of vanilla extract, and a pinch of salt.

img_4310

And lastly, mix in 2 1/2 cups of cake flour into your mixture so that you’re left the world’s driest cookie dough. I don’t know if it was dry because I’m dumb and assumed cake flour is the same as any other kind of flour (it isn’t), or if this is just how the consistency is supposed to be. Regardless though, this made the dough incredibly hard to work with.

The next step is to separate the dough into your six portions for the colors, and a larger portion that will later be used to surround the rainbow hearts.

After the dough is separated, add the food coloring into your smaller portions of dough. This process took about an hour to do and it was around this point when I began regretting the decision to ever make these.

After the coloring process, the dough needs to be left in the fridge for an hour. And once it’s taken out you’re left with this mess. Great. As if the dough wasn’t dry enough already.

Then you’ll need to roll out your little rainbow colored messes into flat layers, which by some miracle I was actually able to achieve. Next, you’ll take your rainbow layers and pile them up one at a time putting an egg wash (1 egg white and 1 tbsp water) on each layer as you go so that they stick together. Once that is done the dough goes back in the fridge for another hour.

Once your rainbow dough is done in the fridge, clean up the edges of your rainbow dough brick and then cut it into smaller and skinnier dough bricks.

The next step is to cut out each skinny rainbow dough brick into hearts using a heart shaped cookie cutter. I’m an idiot though and I accidentally rolled out my rainbow layers too thin, leaving my rainbow dough bricks too short for my cookie cutter. So I decided to improvise and stick three dough bricks together and form larger rainbow dough bricks.

img_4333

Once the hearts are cut out, pile them up using that same egg wash from earlier in between each heart. (Also yes, I am aware the colors aren’t lined up. Like I said before, I’m an idiot.) After this, stick the heart pile into the freezer for an hour.

After that hour is up, take your heart pile out of the freezer and cover it with the remaining uncolored portion of dough. Once this is done, you’ll need to put this sad little lump of dough in the fridge for another hour.

Once THAT hour is up, grab that same egg wash that’s been sitting out for the past 6 hours and cover your sad lump of dough with it. Then, roll your dough lump into a bowl of rainbow sprinkles and cut it into cookies. Because I had to group my rainbow dough bricks from earlier into threes, I ended up only being able to make seven cookies. The recipe said that this serves 30…

img_4340

After cutting the cookies, stick them in the oven for 11 minutes and there you have it! In total it took me about 7 hours to make these. That’s right. 1 hour for each cookie. Despite the fact that I was able to make these look somewhat similar to Eugenie’s cookies, I’m going to have to say that this was a fail.

Usually this is the part where I leave a link to the recipe just in case you want to try it, but I don’t think there’s anyone that I hate enough to recommend this recipe to. Unless you’re trying to prove your undying (and I mean that term literally) love to someone, do NOT try this recipe.

Leave a comment